Custom Keyboard Build

DWD1961

[H]ard|Gawd
I just got this keyboard:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09PRMV1T6?th=1
6109Y3IxSjL._AC_SL1500_.jpg

I want to build it, but I've never done it before. I was thinking about going with Cherry switches and cherry caps to avoid any type of interference between the caps and switches, but I'm open to that. I'm not even sure if Cherry are the measure of top end switches anymore. I'd like to use crystal type caps, but I don;t know what brand would work best or have a nice quality for the switches I get, be that Cherry or whatever you all think is better (crystal caps are like pudding caps, but the pudding bottom part is clear, not translucent). I was also going to fill the bottom with liquid silicon to dampened it. The switches need to be able to show the board's RGB through them too.

Any input would be great.

Last edited:
As an Amazon Associate, HardForum may earn from qualifying purchases.
G.Skill makes a nice set of crystal caps available with white or black tops. the buttons are up to rather you like clicky or not. and there are several ways to add damping too. ebay sells packs of dampers that slip on. the liquid silicone would be difficult but maybe a plastic syringe would make it possible.

i hear Gaterons are good switches, my keyboard is still Cherry, it is just what i am familiar with.

G.Skill makes a nice set of crystal caps available with white or black tops. the buttons are up to rather you like clicky or not. and there are several ways to add damping too. ebay sells packs of dampers that slip on. the liquid silicone would be difficult but maybe a plastic syringe would make it possible.

i hear Gaterons are good switches, my keyboard is still Cherry, it is just what i am familiar with.