Cloud Computing: Let's kick this off

4saken

[H]F Junkie
I figure this forum will probably be a little more business/industry related, rather than hobbyist as the Virtualization forum is(which has and is been a great resource for years here). But, lets face it, the enterprise is going this way whether people want to admit it or not. So let's maybe start by just checking in on who currently is heavily involved on a day to day basis with AWS, Azure, GCE, docker, DevOps, orchestration, config mgmt, etc, etc. Of course not all of the latter technologies are bound to cloud computing, but they are a necessity when moving to cloud services. I hope we can avoid turning this into a on-prem vs cloud flame fest, there are merits and valid use-cases for both still.

I'll start. I am a manager of operations for a large company that is currently in phase 2 of a full migration off of 'legacy' virtualization/SAN/NAS/datacenter infrastructure to AWS. We are leveraging about 65% of AWS available services, from EC2, S3, Lambda/Api Gateway(serverless), dynamodb, autoscaling,etc, etc.

Where we are at:

• Creating our AWS base environments via Cloudformation scripts(VPC, Gateways, DBs, Bastion hosts, DNS, etc)
  • Completely replaced our VMware horizon/view implementation with AWS Workspaces, this one was easy
  • Migrated 45 TB of image data(600mil+files) using Lambda/S3/DynamoDB(for image metadata). This was a big project and very challenging, but extremely fun and gratifying to complete.
  • Written our own Ruby based orchestration system utilizing Chef, Terraform, Consul, RabbitMQ, to allow our developers and QA teams to spin up complete production environments for testing or devving, along with scheduling to turn them off after hours or when done. This has been a multi year project and still ongoing.
  • Forklifted 20% of our static non config mgmt friendly VMware infrastructure so far, going for 100, utilizing AWS vm-import method, this works surprisingly good.