Burn-In Checklist?

stateofjermaine

[H]ard|Gawd
Thanks to everyone here for helping me put together my sig rig over the past month or two. Another [H] child is born. :D

I just received my DVD drive, which my stepdaughter and I will be installing tomorrow, and at that point it will be time for Spaceman Spiff's maiden voyage. Now, I guess I have been knocking around these boards long enough to have heard about Prime95, but I wouldn't know the first thing about running it. I thought I might run this by everyone, and see (a) what type of software is typically used to stress test, and (b) what kind of checklists you typically run down when running a PC for the first time. If it's as simple as posting a link to some other thread, I would be very grateful (and apologetic).

Update!

So, I've been running this new system for a few months, and it occurred to me that I never satisfied the [H] etiquette of posting a few pics. I actually blogged the build so my friends and family could follow along, but there are plenty of pics if you want to skip the talking. Also, you can scroll to the bottom to just see the completed build. Thanks again to the [H] for all the help with my first of many! :D

Mini P180 Build Log

Last edited:
There's really no need to "Burn-in" a CPU/Computer. You can run Prime95/Memtest/FurMark/HD Tune/etc if you want to, but there's no real need to unless you're experiencing some problems or you plan on OC'ing.