Broken Aorus GTX 1080ti. Seeking help diagnose problem and to replace broken module.

waylmaster

n00b
Hello I am not new to system components but I am new to GPU repair and PCB circuitry. I recently purchased a broken Aorus 1080ti locally for 60 dollars with the intent to fix. I have diagnosed the problem to be a blown module located in the vcore. I dont know exactly if it is a mosfet but I do know that it is manufactured by Alpha & Omega semiconductors (AOZ5036) http://www.aosmd.com/res/data_sheets/AOZ5036QI-01.pdf.

I have already purchased some replacements from Aliexpress (https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000786926977.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.38ef4c4dIoAR5x).

I still don't know if the short was caused from internal problems or if it was purely a PSU issue. I need some help on identifying the cause, and also need help on what I need to replace the module. I have included multiple images of the damage and surrounding area of the pcb.

Attachments

• IMG_20201122_183108.jpg
    IMG_20201122_183108.jpg
    750.1 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20201122_183149.jpg
    IMG_20201122_183149.jpg
    844.8 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20201122_183003.jpg
    IMG_20201122_183003.jpg
    754.4 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20201122_182848.jpg
    IMG_20201122_182848.jpg
    535.6 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20201122_182751.jpg
    IMG_20201122_182751.jpg
    457.7 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20201122_183238.jpg
    IMG_20201122_183238.jpg
    734.3 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20201122_183332.jpg
    IMG_20201122_183332.jpg
    790.5 KB · Views: 0
Yeah that part is a mosfet. The issue is just replacing the part usually doesnt fix anything, as what caused it to blow is likely still an issue. Plus it may have done other damage to the card when it blew.

RazorWind

I have read many of his fix a video card threads. Very knowledgeable and informative with things like this.
Hopefully he can pop in here and help you out.