AMD CPU Cooler with Vertical Airflow toward top of case SL600M

ClockerXP

Gawd
Hello-
I have a Coolermaster SL600M case. The airflow is 100% vertical with 200mm fans in the bottom and top of the case. I currently have a Wraith Prism but would like a better cooler. I want the airflow of the cpu cooler to be up-down (the same as the case) since there is no fan at the back.

Any suggestions? I see the IceGiant out there, which is the concept I am looking for but it is ridiculously big. I know there are a lot of good tower coolers out there but I don't know if they can be turned 90-degrees to create up-down airflow.

Here's my case: https://cdn.coolermaster.com/media/assets/1003/sl600m-black-edition-3-zoom.png

Thanks!

Attachments

• 20220725_120438.jpg
    20220725_120438.jpg
    463.4 KB · Views: 0
I know for a fact that the Noctua NH-D15 can be turned in this orientation, I run mine in this orientation on my encoder box.

Thanks Enigma. I wonder if almost all of the tower coolers can be installed sideways? Maybe I should download some install manuals for a few and read them.

I know for a fact that the Noctua NH-D15 can be turned in this orientation, I run mine in this orientation on my encoder box.
Enigma- is your encoder box AMD or Intel? Just wondering if the socket determines if the cooler can be re-oriented for up down flow.

I think the original Pure Rock Slim mounted with airflow vertical. Not sure about the v2.

You should be able to turn most of the Noctua ones 90 degrees. The limiting factor may actually be the motherboard, since the heatsink has to clear any heatsinks on the VRM and memory.

Given that there are many other obstructions to airflow inside of the case, the airflow probably isn't actually "100% vertical" and as such, I wouldn't expect this to make any noticeable difference. You'd probably do better by just using the biggest gnarliest heatsink you can fit, or a CLC.