6950x 4 Channels DDR4 2400; one DIMM per Channel?

Jbort1984

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 28, 2009
Messages
1,349
Ordered my 6950x looking at a new lga 2011v3 motherboard and noticed this on the cpu spec page. So my board has 8 rams slots im only able to utilize 4 of them now? whats the point of quad channel ram?
 

Deimos

Gawd
Joined
Aug 10, 2004
Messages
989
If you want to make use of the maximum bandwidth (68GB/s), you need to install at least 4 sticks of ram. A single channel's bandwidth is (68/4) 17GB/s, all the channels combine in parallel for a total of 68GB/s.
 

Jbort1984

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 28, 2009
Messages
1,349
ok so i can stll install 64gbs 8x8gb sticks and it will see it all? The way i read it was that its only going to read and use 4 sticks total.
 

heatlesssun

Extremely [H]
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
44,154
ok so i can stll install 64gbs 8x8gb sticks and it will see it all? The way i read it was that its only going to read and use 4 sticks total.

You need 4 sticks at a time to support quad channel. You're good having all 8 slots filled, two banks, quad channel. I'm building an 6950x system myself, plan on doing that this Friday, need a few more parts that are on the way.
 

Jbort1984

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 28, 2009
Messages
1,349
You need 4 sticks at a time to support quad channel. You're good having all 8 slots filled, two banks, quad channel. I'm building an 6950x system myself, plan on doing that this Friday, need a few more parts that are on the way.

can i ask what mobo you chose to go with? Im looking at the msi godlike carbon or the Rampage V Edition 10. Also looking at the corsair dominator 8x 8gb platinum series with the cooling fans. Gonna be using my 3x gtx titans form the time being as i dont see a real performanmce jump to make it worth my while to get the new 1080's
 

Naieve

Gawd
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
746
can i ask what mobo you chose to go with? Im looking at the msi godlike carbon or the Rampage V Edition 10. Also looking at the corsair dominator 8x 8gb platinum series with the cooling fans. Gonna be using my 3x gtx titans form the time being as i dont see a real performanmce jump to make it worth my while to get the new 1080's

Unless you are heavily overclocking your ram, the dominators are massive overkill. Can get same performance from some gskills for half the price. And I personally always use only 1 stick per channel.
 

Jbort1984

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 28, 2009
Messages
1,349
the ram was more of a looks thing lol i hate empty ram slot and like the look of the ram cooler
 
Top