Windows 11 24H2 will enable BitLocker encryption for everyone - happens on both clean installs and reinstalls

It's good for a portable device carrying corporate secrets. I don't need bitlocker at home on a desktop.

Are most people hitting their drives with a hammer before tossing their computers? Like really fucking their shit up?

When I worked in IT, we'd even gotten used drives with data still readable on them a few times.

This article has more holes than Swiss cheese.

First of all, it starts out with the amazing statement:

WTF are they talking about? 23H2 has been out for quite some time now. I've done countless installs of 23H2 at this point, everything from fresh installs, in-place upgrades, upgrades via Windows Update, etc, on systems that both meet and don't meet the system requirements. Some of them have been "re-installs", or installs on systems that already had 23H2 on them before. Never once has Bitlocker been enabled by default.

It seems like Toms Hardware is just re-posting (and adding a lot of unsubstantiated theory onto) a short German article that has almost no actual details.

For example, one very important missing detail would be, what do they mean exactly when they say 24H2? I say that because, 24H2 has not been officially released yet. Knowing exactly which unreleased version of 24H2 they are talking about would be kind of an important detail for them to mention, don't you think?

In terms of 24H2 versions: